alister.linton-crook@southdowns.gov.uk

September 2018

We have been undertaking feasibility studies and design work for the current phase of the Centurion Way project to develop a planning application for the next section from West Dean to the South Downs Way National Trail at Cocking. We expect to submit the planning application soon and designs will be available to preview.

## **PUBLIC INVITATION**

## View the Centurion Way Planning Drawings

From West Dean to the South Downs Way, Cocking

24 October - 3pm to 7pm

Cocking Village Hall, Bell Ln, Cocking, GU29 0HU

- Proposed 6km route will start from north of West Dean Tunnel, by-pass
  Singleton Tunnel and leave the former track bed south of Cocking Tunnel and connect with the South Downs Way
- Extensive habitat surveys have been undertaken along the corridor to ensure important wildlife habitats are not negatively impacted
- We have developed the path design and alignment with the landowners and tenants to accommodate their views and farming operations. We remain grateful for their positive support
- Over 1,000 visitors weekly on Centurion Way (Binderton-West Dean average since April 2018)
- West Dean Stores and Tea Room recently installed cycle parking and fix-it station supplied by the South Downs National Park



SOUTH DOWNS



SDNP Cycle parking stands and fix-it station at West Dean Stores and Tea Room

Circulation list	
The Edward James Foundation – Alex Barron, Diane Goodman, Ian Graham	
National Trust – Jane Cecil, Simon Craig	Cowdray Estate – Jonathan Russell, Richard Everett
Savills Smiths Gore – Philip Kirk	West Dean Parish Council – Ian Odin, Steve Corbett
Singleton Parish Council – John Elliott, Diane Snow	Cocking Parish Council – David Imlach
Midhurst Town Council - Gordon McAra, Stephen Morley (both CDC)	Lavant Parish Council – Ian Hutton, Adrian Blades
West Dean CE Primary School – Gill Moss	Chichester District Scouts – Geoff Strickland
The Weald and Downland Museum – Simon Wardell	Cucumber Farm, Littlewood Farm – Elizabeth Benson
Sussex Bat Group – Sue Harris	South Downs Local Access Forum – Bob Damper
Chichester District Cycle Forum – Ian Smith, Ivan Western	Sustrans – Chris Sprules, Chris Wright
Cycling UK (Bognor and Chi District) – Edwin Jones	Midhurst Area Cycling – Angela Henslow, Jane Crawford
Centurion Way User Group – Mark Hillman	Sussex Ramblers –
Chichester Society – John Wichers	Chichester Access Group – Glynis Spencer
British Horse Society – Tricia Butcher	Badgers Trust West Sussex – Tina Cooper
Chichester City Council – Helen Monkton	Lavant CE Primary School – Adrian King
Schofield Lothian – Paul Humphrey	West Sussex Cycle Forum – Geoff Farrell
West Sussex County Council – Andy Mouland, Jonathon Perks, Jane	WSCC Member – Sean McDonald, Jeremy Hunt, Kate O'Kelly, Simon
Noble, Chris Dye, Mike Dare, Ian Patrick, Clare Faulkner	Oakley (also CDC), Janet Duncton (also SDNPA CDC)
Chichester District Council – Simon Ballard, Kate Simons, David	CDC Member – Mike Hall, Gordon McAra and Stephen Morley (also
Hyland, Justin Jones	MTC), Mark Dunn (also SDNPA), Simon Oakley (also WSCC)
SDNPA – Trevor Beattie, Andrew Lee, Ruth James, Nigel James, Allison	SDNPA Member – Heather Baker, Mark Dunn (also CDC), Janet
Thorpe, Nat Belderson, Tom Parry, Andy Gattiker	Duncton (also WSCC CDC)

